Nursing Home

The doctors came to talk about me moving to a nursing home yesterday. A week ago I would have been filled with dread, but given the alternatives it seems like a fine idea. For one thing I’m taking up a valued bed at the Mac Unit. The Mac Unit is not the ideal place. It’s geared more towards people that are more ill than I, or people that need to find a more suitable arrangement as I do. On the other hand a nursing home is geared exactly towards what I need. I suppose I don’t like to admit I’m not independent.

Nursing-Homes

In a nursing home I can get on with making some music, and even recording. I can do some painting as well. I can do lots of things I can’t do at my flat or in the Mac Unit. I’ll have more private space wile having more social interaction. Most people have costs to consider. Nursing homes can cost a fortune, but it’s not an issue to me, so long as it doesn’t affect the quality of the service. I don’t like being surrounded by very ill people all the time either, whereas in a nursing home there will be a mix of ages and reasons for them being in care.

My main problems are lack of mobility and eating. We don’t really know why I have the problem with my legs. I can manage about 20 paces without having to stop for a rest, but after that it get’s a bit better. I can go out for a walk providing I stop for little rests.

They have just been talking to me about moving to a nursing home, so I am speaking to the physiotherapist and the psychologist about it. I am looking forward to playing my guitar and doing some arty work. I hope I can get a place with easy garden access, so I can laze about and be waited on hand and foot. It’s probably not good to be waited hand and foot. It might actually do some good having to put your washing in the washing machine, and relieve some of the boredom. Some people thrive on housework.

Leave a comment